In this guide we show you how to make the most of Categories - designed to help increase visibility and provide further controls to effectively manage your supply chain.

Categories are visible to your client organisation only - not seen by your supplier. 

Introducing Categories

Categories is an attribute that lets client organisations assign additional information to a supplier, especially powerful for large organisations with large supply chains. 

Simple, but powerful

Applying a category to a supplier is fast and easy, with immediate results. Categories instantly indicate if the supplier is authorised for further work, or if they are not deemed suitable for new contracts. 

Categories can be updated at any time, making it easy to keep your supply chain up to date on the suitability of future work. You can view the category on your Companies as well as on individual company pages. 

A flexible tool - with ability to customise

There are four default categories to choose from, but should you wish to edit these simply contact IAND. We can help you customise the categories to best suit your organisation. 


  • Reduce risk. Offer instant company wide insights on which suppliers are not fit for new contracts.  

  • Highlight star performers. Drive increased value by highlighting suppliers that have proven to be exceptional performers / key accounts. 

  • Instant impact. Applying a category to a supplier can be undertaken in seconds, with instant visibility to your colleagues, giving your internal teams the latest knowledge on the suitability of a supplier for future work. 

Did you know that Categories can be personalised to suit your organisation? Contact IAND ( to edit and create new categories.

How to use Categories

Activating Categories

Categories are activated on each supplier’s company page. The default category for each supplier is ‘Not set’.

  1. To change this, go to your chosen supplier. by clicking on the drop down to make your selection. The platform will instantly update not only the company page, but the Company Index. 

There are four default options for you to choose from. These can be edited and reworded to fit your organisation (contact IAND if you wish to edit the available categories). There are no rules for how you use the categories, but this should function as a general guide:

  • Not set: The default option for each company

  • Partner: A key supplier (e.g. delivery / strategic)

  • Authorised: When the supplier is deemed suitable for further work

  • Do not use: A way to clearly share this message internally

When browsing suppliers

Your Companies will show a column and filter to help maximise the use of Categories when browsing your supply chain. You can easily see which suppliers are authorised for work, which are partners, which have not yet been set, and which you have been asked to avoid. 

Did this answer your question?